In Session

Robby Krieger

Purple Pyramid, 2017

REVIEW BY: David Bowling


Robbie Krieger’s place in rock and roll history is secure. He was the guitarist for the legendary Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame band The Doors. He also co-wrote many of their most famous songs, including “Light My Fire,” “Love Her Madly,” “Love Me Two Times,” and “Touch Me.”my_heart_sings_the_harmony_web_ad_alt_250

Krieger is known as one of the best guitarists of his generation. He maintained an on-and-off relationship with fellow Doors bandmate Ray Manzarek until the latter’s death. His solo career has traveled in a number of directions, including rock, jazz-fusion, and experimental.  He has now released the eighth studio album of his career, titled In Session.

Krieger has just produced the most commercial album of his career.  In Session is also a simple album.  It is a group of catchy songs on which he is joined by a number of guest artists including Jackson Browne, Nik Turner, Billy Sherwood, Tommy Shaw, Rod Argent, and even William Shatner, which was not as bad as it sounds.

“Where We Belong” with Tony Kaye, “Brain Damage” with Geoff Downes, and in one of the last performances of his life, “All You Need Is Love” with John Wetton provide edgy partnerships for Krieger’s rock and roll approach. Featuring Jackson Browne on “Across The Universe” and Tommy Shaw of Styx on“Don’t Leave Me Know” provides a lighter side to his music.

The only two misses are an out of place performance of “The Little Drummer Boy” and a terribly recorded live version of “Back Door Man.”

Krieger’s previous solo efforts have always been serious affairs. In Session is just plain fun and enjoyable, and that makes all the difference.

Rating: B+

User Rating: Not Yet Rated



© 2017 David Bowling and The Daily Vault. All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Purple Pyramid, and is used for informational purposes only.